Difference between HGV Class 1 and Class 2 Permits

HGV is also an indispensable part of the freight department. They depend profoundly on such transportations to be ready to render aids to their patrons.

HGV transports help govern the market, and several kinds of HGV are designed to serve various goals. These are not just open for marketing, but can also be employed depending on what it is obliged for.

The contrast between HGV class 1 and HGV Class 2 has been a deep-existing conversation. Of course, the explanation is quite easy: The difference is that, while Class 1 permits are for transports with removable wagons, and Class 2 permits are for carriers with stiff frame build where the trailer cannot be severed from the cart.

Explanation of HGV

So what is HGV? HGV is the term phrased for ‘Heavy Good Vehicles’, and is often confused for the LGV permit for a specific purpose — they are actually something very alike. To describe it with a quote, “Same same but different”. It has been split into two, only because of road tax the one who operates below 3.5 tonnes was regarded as LGV driver and the one who is running a commercial transport measuring higher than 3.5 tonnes is known as to HGV driver permit.

So fundamentally, the titles are linked to the identical kind of transportation, but in distinct settings.

We have all apprehended about HGV operators; however what exactly is the difference between Class 1 and Class 2 HGV? The notion that matters is particularly outspoken — a Class 1 permit authorizes you to drive a level C+E vehicle, which is actually an articulated wagon. A Level 2 permit qualifies you to operate a category C transport.

HGV Driver License Categories

  • Level C1- This is the official, primary qualification of HGV driver training and permitting that you can achieve. This permit is a step up from a normal driver’s license and allows you to operate a carrier of 3,500 Kgs, as long as that transportation is less than 7.5 tonnes in total load.


  • C1+E- This grant is furthermore customarily identified as a 7.5 tonne + wagon permit, and reasonably prepares as it is stated on that container. It allows the operator to run a vehicle with an entire mass of up to 7,500kg, with a fastened wagon of above 750kg certified volume. Essentially it’s a renewed regular C1 permit that indicates the one who has cleared their C1 examination and is accepted for a C1 permit.


  • Category C- A category C permit allows truckers to run vehicles above 3.5 tonnes. Nevertheless, should not surpass 32 weights. Cat C permit automatically develops a vehicle with a taxi and wagon fixed for permanently together. One can gain this permit at the age of 18.


  • C+E- A section C + E permit is the most comprehensive HGV license you can possess. With this permit, truckers can manage and deal with a drawbar or connected transport. The E portion of sections C and E permit describes an opportunity and indicates that the driver can work up to or above 750 tonnes in load. This particular permit is also known as Class 1. This facilitates the driver to handle any large items vehicle needed, including a dual wagon.


Demonstrate the difference between Class 1 and Class 2 Permits?

  • A Class 1 permit enables you to manage section C+E wheels.
  • A Class 2 permit is for C Section transportations i.e, the inflexible ones.
  • As early as you get your Class 2 permit you can utilize it to choose the examination that will entitle you for C+E.


How to get your HGV Class 1 or 2 license:

To receive your HGV license, you must already be capable to handle a car and possess a Class B permit. You must be 18 years or above and in the beginning, appeal for a temporary HGV driver’s permit.

To execute this, you’ll require a D2 and a D4 application from the DVLA i.e., Driving and Vehicle License. Applicants can complete the D2 application. But the D4 application is pharmaceutical and will need to be elected by a physician and optician. Once you’re serving as an HGV trucker, you’ll be required to clear a medical test five years each.

The next move is earning your complete HGV driver’s permit. This is divided into four segments:

Part 1: Theory examination: You must secure a minimum of 85/100 in multiple-choice questions and at least 67/100 in a risk perception examination.


Part 2: Event studies examination: You’ll be conferred with seven possible case studies you could undergo. While driving an HGV or LGV, you are required to demonstrate what you would do and how. The minimum passing mark is 40 out of 50.


Part 3: Driving skill: The actual driving examination. It will continue for 1 hour 30 minutes and incorporates transportation security problems, practical road driving, and off-road activities.

Part 4: Practical illustration: You’ll be examined on your capability to saddle a lorry, working out with trafficking and any mishaps, overcome uncertainties, and lead a vehicle security test.

How are Class 1 and Class 2 different?

The Level 2 HGV permit is restricted to handling huge vehicles over 3,500kg with wagons that do not surpass 700 tonnes. It is also defined as stiff transportations where the vehicle is lastingly fastened to the wagon below 32 weights. This kind of permit also indicates you are more liable to do regional shipments. You must have cleared the Level 2 practical examination before you can proceed with the Level 1 examination.

Types of Various HGV Vehicles

Here are the various types of HGV vehicles open in the market presently and what objective they toil –

  • Dry and Customer Goods Lorries– Most of the trucks that we see throughout are dry items and customer goods Lorries and convey a broad variety of goods such as PCs, wearable, cans, crisps, and more.
  • Transporter– Transporters are applied to move automobiles from one site to another.
  • Emergency Wheels– Some of the basic emergency transports involve a fire truck, ambulance, Danger vehicle, and others.
  • Livestock Lorries– Livestock Lorries are used to carry a broad category of livestock, consisting of roosters, pigs, calves, sheep, and others.
  • Refrigerated Carriers– Refrigerated means are utilized to stock and carry a broad range of items such as food and beverages.
  • Specialist Transports– Some specialist transports have unique operations like Cement Blenders, Snow harrows, Highway Maintenance Wheels, etc.
  • Supertankers– Supertankers are employed to move a vast quantity of liquid and granular supplies such as petroleum, oils, sugar, cereals, powders, and more.

Final Words

HGV classes can be complex. Even a small variation in transport type or operator circumstance can create a tremendous contrast in the class of eligibility or skills you require. So how can you assure that your complete fleet remains flexible? Understand the information above to earn the HGV class 1 or 2 license for your job. Apply for the right job description according to your skills and commitment.

At GS Drivers, our freightage specialists are committed to standing by up to date with the most advanced ordinances for operators and fleets. We can aid you to suffice your judicial obligations. Our devoted customer service portal will help you stay up to date with everything you need to know.

Also read this blog: Driving Schools

Related Articles

istanbul escort
Back to top button